The Best of ALL the Thanksgiving Foods

Don’t get me wrong, I love me some turkey. Especially a smoked turkey. Have you ever had a smoked turkey?! It’ll make you almost never want any other kind of turkey. I also highly recommend brining. For at least 24 hours. But is turkey the best part of your thanksgiving meal?

For me, I’m a bigger fan of all the OTHER parts of that glorious day of food and thanks…

1) -Pumpkin Pie-

Glorious fluffy pumpkin goodness in a buttery crust

Pumpkin pie is probably my favorite. Most of my family is NOT a fan of the pumpkin pie, so I get pretty much the whole pie to myself! That means multiple thanksgiving day pieces AND pie for breakfast the next morning (or two).

I totally want to try this spin on it from one of my fave foodie bloggers, Annie’s Eats. Click on the photo and it’ll take you straight to the post for the delicious recipe!

Caramel Spiked Pumpkin Pie! How delicious does this look and sound?!

2) -Stuffing-

Okay. I lovelovelove stuffing. And like in a lame way. Because my favorite is definitely Stouffer’s StoveTop.

You know. This red box of deliciousness.

I know there are surely purists out there that would argue that it needs to be homemade. And, seriously, the cook in me says “PLEASE SEND ME RECIPES!” because I’d love to find a good homemade version. For now, I’ll eat all the StoveTop you put in front of me.

3) -Green Bean Casserole-

I like to eat all the extra french fried onions. So I need the biggest container of those you can find, please.

So in my day job I work with many other ethnicities, but primarily hispanic and polish. The hilarity ensued when I was talking to them about my favorite thanksgiving dishes. It turns out, they’re completely confused about casseroles. And they have no idea what I was talking about. So I assured them I was going to make them green bean casserole this week. πŸ™‚ I mean, seriously. Snappy green beans in delicious cream of mushroom soup, and then topped with all those delicious french fried onions?! SO GOOD!

4) -Sweet Potato Casserole-

Oh man. My mouth waters just thinking of the sweet, buttery, crunchy goodness.

Okay. I’ll admit it. I HATE marshmallows on my sweet potato casserole. I mean, why would you destroy it with marshmallows?!?! My mother’s is the best (don’t we all say that) and it’s topped with a mixture of butter, brown sugar, pecans, and crushed frosted flakes. Which means you end up with the slightly sweet and fluffy whipped sweet potatoes topped with the crunchy, buttery, sweet goodness that makes this almost enough to be dessert. And you’re totally okay with it.

5) -Mashed Potatoes (and gravy, if you’re into it)-

Can’t leave out the fluffy, starchy goodness that is potatoes mashed up with butter and cream!

I love the way my dad makes them. TONS of butter and cream mixed in. Because who needs healthy with all that starch?! πŸ™‚ I’m sure everyone has their own special way of mashing potatoes, but that’s the way I want them, and I prefer no gravy. That’s right. But I do usually mix up my mashed potatoes with my stuffing and my green bean casserole. πŸ™‚

***BONUS*** -Cranberry Margarita-

So pretty and surely so delicious!

Here’s a drink I’m TOTALLY going to try this holiday season…again, thanks to Annie’s Eats. I’m a huge margarita fan. HUGE! They’re soooo good. Over ice with salt, please. πŸ™‚ But here’s a festive twist that I’m pretty sure would be a party in my mouth!

So what are YOUR favorite holiday dishes (and drinks) that you’re looking forward to next week? Share your faves and photos and recipes, PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

