The Good Kind of Defiance

You know how growing up you’re told to behave a certain way and be a big kid and be mature? Say your ma’am’s and sir’s and be polite? And sometimes the rules loosen and tighten up based on who your audience is?

It is no secret that I’ve been in a career slump for the past year. The position I held for several years at a particular chain restaurant was fine, but totally dead end as far as the future I wanted for it was concerned. I got recruited for a very promising position for a particular big box retailer. My training went well and I loved it. Then their corporate office changed the role and it became a pale ghost of the position that was supposed to help me grow and advance. I made the decision to jump ship and move back to the aforementioned food chain, but in a different role, so that I could move to Chicago.

With that part out of the way, I can tell you that the best part of the chaos is that it all got me to Chicago finally. The worst part is that I’ve been stuck feeling frustrated with my lack of career at my age and applying to a million things that seem to go no where fast. And, until very recently, a bit of denial with myself about what I want for my life. See, as I said in the opening paragraph, we grow up being told to do things a certain way, be a certain way, have a life plan in accordance with what the public expects us to do. What I knew already: I’m not everybody else. What I had to convince myself was okay: I don’t have to have a corporate career to be successful!

What I want in my career is to do something I LOVE. Not something that just pays the bills. I want to love what I do, because if I love what I do, it hardly seems like working! I’ve found several things in life that I LOVE to do…and for that I’m very lucky.

One) PhotographyΒ – Something that is now on hold after having several years of a decent amount of success because all my gear owned got stolen…but it’ll come back after I save enough money to reboot.
Two) Scentsy/Grace Adele– HOLY COW! I love this company and business. I can get caught up for hours and hours doing things Scentsy related and not even realize it and not hate myself afterward. πŸ™‚ This business is what I want to focus on, so growing my team and having parties and selling and being on top of this is happening!
Three) The Internet – which sounds silly…but I really love social media. I find it fascinating. I love blogging. I guess dating mister computer science, Alex, all through college rubbed off a little. πŸ˜‰

I feel like my personality needs to run it’s own business. I don’t think I’ll be happy with anything else but being my own boss. And that’s TOTALLY okay. In fact, when I think about it, I get REALLY excited! No one to be accountable to but myself. My success is mine. My failures are mine. But I accomplish it for me through me. It’s anything but conventional and the norm, but it’s totally me. And that’s most important.

So, now that that’s out there… πŸ™‚ Expect to see me building my business. It’s been almost 2 years with Scentsy. I have a team of 6. I have several people who’ve been on the fence. My team members are all about to have their own teams (everyone of them has at least one person about to join). Things are about to explode and the Chicago market is a wide open playing field! I AM SO EXCITED!!! If you’re in the Chicagoland area and want to have a house party, let me know! If you’re anywhere in the USA and want to have a Facebook or basket party, let me know! If you’ve thought about joining Scentsy/Grace Adele/Velata, and don’t know whose team is right, join mine! My team is amazing! My upline is amazing! And I’d love to be the leader to help you grow your own business!

SO MANY EXCLAMATION POINTS!!!!! πŸ™‚ But that’s just what happens when I’m happy excited! So join my excitement in some way, shape, or form. Even if it’s just to tell me you’re vocal and mental support. I love you for that, too.

Leave a Reply

