Sounds of Saturday: John Mayer

I wrote a Facebook status today that said:

“Me and John (Mayer. Obvi.) have been great friends as of late.

He’s kind of like that friend that you wish was around all the time, but can’t be, but when you’re together it’s like no time has passed and you’ve never been apart. Musically speaking.”

You know what I mean? Sometimes you just have to pull out those old friends and put them back into rotation, because they make you feel things and make you feel comfortable with life again. John Mayer’s music takes me so many places. To past moments, like my high school graduation and my breakup with my ex, and present ones – John just seems to write about what’s going on in my life and make me FEEL it.

If you weren’t a fan of his older pop stuff, you need to check out Born & Raised and Paradise Valley. They’re more raw, gritty, and folksy. They’re totally unlike what he’s done in the past, but in a REALLY great way. John Mayer has grown up, too, and it’s good. It’s really, really good.

So go listen and let me know what you think! I think you’ll agree (just like if you’d go listen to new Hanson…). 🙂

Leave a Reply

