Setting Goals

I’ve been contemplating this post for a while. Well…a few weeks, as it IS now almost a month in to 2016. That whole new year concept always leads people to make “resolutions”. I long ago learned that I suck at resolutions. And so do almost everyone else. Just go visit a gym in January versus February versus March. You’ll watch everyone’s resolutions bite the dust as the days pass and you’ll agree with me. 🙂

So, I don’t do “resolutions”. What I can get behind is GOALS. Because goals are measurable. They’re things you create a plan for. They’re not just words you throw out in the universe in hopes they come true. Or at least that’s not how I view my goals. And I also don’t believe in creating them just at the beginning of the year (although, I do find the new year a great time reevaluate yourself, your life, and your goals).

I’ve spent the past few weeks doing a lot of evaluating of things:

  • How did my 2015 go?
  • What does my dream board look like?
  • Has it changed? Do things need to be added/removed?
  • Have I succeeded in checking off as many goals as possible because I successfully pursued them?
  • What goals didn’t get completed and do I want to keep reaching for them, or is it time to adjust them because things have changed/altered?
  • What is my word for this year?

See, I’ve taken to having a theme word for the year. Something to aim for every day. MOTIVATION.

Last year my word was DAUNTLESS.

daunt·less
ˈdôntlis,ˈdänt-/
adjective
adjective: dauntless
showing fearlessness and determination.
“dauntless bravery”
synonyms: fearless, determined, resolute, indomitable, intrepid, doughty, plucky, spirited, mettlesome
I knew that 2015 was going to be a year of so much change for me. I had just moved to Orlando with nothing, started a job at Disney, and applied for and was accepted to a leadership training program with Scentsy. I had no idea what was in store for me, but I knew I was going to give it my everything with FEARLESSNESS and DETERMINATION. I think I kicked 2015’s ass, if I do say so myself. The job became a better job with a promotion. Disney became a happy place that made me Dawn again. Scentsy became a place where I could soar, and I realized, FINALLY, that I was absolutely capable of being successful with it and at leading a team and helping them be successful, too. And we, my “little” team of 13 amazing friends that I call family, DOUBLED (or more) our successes from 2014 (and that team number doubled, too).

So this year, I’ve been unsure as to what the word would be. What would be the word to guide my 2016 goals? SO HARD! It came easy last year, but I just could not figure it out this year. Things and changes this year will be just as huge, if not even more huge than last. And things have been tough to start the year. I’m in a much better place all around and, in reality, things are great, but I’ve been hard on myself for a lot. For no reason really, but I’m my own worst critic. Always. 🙂

And then it hit me: BELIEVE.

be·lieve
bəˈlēv/
verb
verb: believe; 3rd person present: believes; past tense: believed; past participle: believed; gerund or present participle: believing
1. accept (something) as true; feel sure of the truth of.
“the superintendent believed Lancaster’s story”
synonyms: be convinced by, trust, have confidence in, consider honest, consider truthful
Because I’m my own worst critic, I often struggle with believing in myself, my goals, my dreams, my successes, etc. It sounds ridiculous, and most people would probably not believe it, even though I’m sharing it, because I try to stay outwardly and publicly positive, and that’s the side of Dawn most people see and know. But this year I want to BELIEVE.

993c56ec8410a0854a6df495c0fba0b7

BELIEVE in me.
BELIEVE in my dreams.
BELIEVE in my goals.
BELIEVE that I’m capable of happiness.
BELIEVE that I deserve good.
BELIEVE that I can run a successful and thriving Scentsy business.
BELIEVE that I have figured out what I want to do “when I grow up.”
BELIEVE that 2016 will be great because I BELIEVE in myself to do the things necessary to make it so.

I will spare you my list of goals for this year. It’s extensive. But it’s created. It has everything on it from completing real estate school and getting my license to becoming a Scentsy director to taking an actual vacation for the first time in 3+ years… And I’m looking forward to checking everything off one by one and living this year to the fullest.

I hope for all of you that you set goals and have things to live for in 2016. Dreams to pursue and checklists to complete. And, most of all, I hope you BELIEVE you can achieve all those things.

Do you have any big goals for this year?! A word you’ve chosen to guide you? I’d love to hear! I feel like we can all help each other succeed with support and encouragement. And speaking things into the universe doesn’t hurt either. 😉

Leave a Reply

