{Recipe} Healthy Copycat: Chipotle Burrito Bowls

This is hard one to photograph and make look yummy, but I swear that if you love Chipotle burrito bowls like I do, then you need this recipe in your freakin’ life! I, in fact, want to make up every meat ever with the marinade. Truth fact.

Things you’ll need:
For Marinade:
1 can chipotles in adobo sauce
1 tsp pepper
2 tsp salt
1 tbsp EVOO
6 cloves garlic, minced

Also:
Chicken (I used a package of tenders – they cook quickly and evenly!)
2 cups Riced cauliflower (I get it from Trader Joe’s, but I hear Green Giant makes it now in your freezer section! Or make your own with fresh cauliflower and the pulse setting on your blender or food processor! Or if you’re anti-cauliflower, brown rice is an option!)
Lime juice
Cilantro (if you like that sort of thing)

Any toppings, such as:
-Caramelized onions and/or bell peppers
-Beans (black or pinto)
-Jalapenos
-Chopped lettuce
-Salsa, pico de gallo, etc.
-Guacamole
-Monterrey jack cheese

Preparation:
Put together all the marinade ingredients and put chicken into marinade and let sit for at least 15 minutes. (I let mine sit for at least a couple hours! YUM!) Once ready to eat, pull out the chicken from the marinade and pan cook it on medium. The tenders only take about 3-4 minutes per side!
Caramelize onions and/or bell peppers in a little EVOO on medium-low heat until soft and tender.
If you’re making beans, prep as you like (I don’t like beans on mine!).
Prepare rice that you’re using. If you’re using riced cauliflower, it’s super easy! Just place the bag contents in a pan and put a lid on it and let it steam itself until tender! Once cooked, mix rice with a little lime juice and (optional) cilantro and a pinch of salt. For added flavor: cook your rice in the same pan you caramelized your onions and peppers in! YUMMY!
Slice jalapenos if you’re using them (then wash your hands, because capsaicin in your eyeballs HURTS!), prep guacamole, etc., based on what toppings you choose to put on your bowl!

Layer rice and then all your toppings as you wish and DIG IN! So much flavor and WAY less guilt! (I mean, seriously, I LOOOOVE Chipotle, but have you LOOKED at their caloric intake?! HOLY POOP, BATMAN!)

Try it out. Let me know what you thought. And let me know what YOUR fave toppings are for your burrito bowl!

BONUS RECIPE: Guacamole!
I make a mean guac, and I don’t know that everyone is always adventurous to make their own or knows how. Mine is SUPER easy but also full of flavor! I also make a lot, because you can never have enough guac. 🙂

2 avocados (you can tell ripeness by gently pushing around the stem area – if it has a little…not a lot! it should not be mushy!…bit of give, you’ve got a good one!)
1 roma tomato, minced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Lime juice (approximately 2 tsp)
Paprika, chili powder, cumin, and salt TO TASTE (I use probably about a teaspoon of paprika, chili powder, and cumin. Then salt at the end a little at a time until all the flavors POP!)

Mush all together until it’s the consistency you prefer!

*You can also add diced onion if you wish, I would go with yellow or red depending on the amount of onion flavor you prefer, but Dan and I are not a fan of onion in our guac! I’m just not a raw onion fan at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

